The obligatory award eligibility post

First, let’s get the easy stuff out of the way. I had just one story of my own published in 2018, ‘To Rain Upon One City’ in Resist Fascism (psst, have you seen this gorgeous cover by Geneva B?) It’s eligible for the short story categories of the Locus, Hugo, and Ditmar awards. I was deeply honoured that my editors Bart Leib and Kay Holt saw fit to open the anthology with my far-future, Jewish refugee jiu-jitsu story of community and kindness.

Mother of Invention has already garnered some great reviews and nominations, including being listed on the 2018 Locus Recommended Reading List and being shortlisted for an Aurealis Award (additional congratulations are in order for Lee Cope, whose story ‘A Robot Like Me’ is shortlisted in the best YA short story category). Reviews are up at, Books and Publishing, and elsewhere.

Things get a little more involved for Mother of Invention eligibility, so I’ve included more detail below, including voting eligibility and deadlines. Thank you to anyone who considers voting for my writing and editing work, and for getting through this labyrinth.


Locus Award voting is open to all, although subscriber votes count twice. Deadline: 15 April.

  • Mother of Invention is eligible in the Best Anthology category (and it’s even listed, did I mention we made their reading list?).
  • All of the stories in the anthology are eligible in the Best Short Story category (see TOC below).
  • Our amazing cover artist, Likhain, is eligible for Best Artist.
  • My wonder co-editor, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and I are eligible for Best Editor.
  • Our very excellent publisher, Twelfth Planet Press, are eligible for Best Book Publisher.


Members of WorldCon 76 and WorldCon 77 can nominate works for consideration in the Hugo Awards (only members of WorldCon 77 will be able to vote). Deadline: 15 March.

  • There is no anthology category for the Hugos.
  • All of the stories in the anthology are eligible in the Best Short Story category (see TOC below).
  • Likhain is eligible for Best Professional Artist.
  • Tansy is eligible for Best Professional Editor, Short Form (but I am not).
  • The essays published in 2018 by Aliette de Bodard, Katherine Cross, and K. Tempest Bradford are eligible for Best Related Work. (Ambelin Kwaymullina’s essay was originally published in 2017 and is therefore ineligible.)


Members of Continuum 15 can nominate works by Australian citizens or residents. 24 March deadline.

  • Mother of Invention is eligible in the Best Collected Work category.
  • Some short stories are eligible for Best Short Story (see bolded items below).
  • Likhain’s cover art is eligible for Best Artwork.

Table of contents (Ditmar-eligible stories in bold)

‘Mother, Mother, Will You Play With Me?’ by Seanan McGuire

Junkyard Kraken’ by D.K. Mok

‘An Errant Holy Spark’ by Bogi Takács

The Goose Hair of One Thousand Miles’ by Stephanie Lai

The Art of Broken Things’ by Joanne Anderton

‘Sexy Robot Heroes’ by Sandra McDonald

A Robot Like Me’ by Lee Cope

New Berth’ by Elizabeth Fitzgerald

Fata Morgana’ by Cat Sparks

Bright Shores’ by Rosaleen Love

‘Quantifying Trust’ by John Chu

‘Sugar Ricochets to Other Forms’ by Octavia Cade

‘Kill Screen’ by E.C. Myers

‘Living Proof’ by Nisi Shawl

‘S’elfie’ by Justina Robson

Knitting Day’ by Jen White

The Revivalist’ by Kaaron Warren

Arguing with People on the Internet’ by E.H. Mann

‘Rini’s God’ by Soumya Sundar Mukherjee

Tidefall’ by Meryl Stenhouse

‘The Ghost Helmet’ by Lev Mirov

One thought on “The obligatory award eligibility post

  1. Pingback: 2019 awards eligibility – E. H. Mann